Uganda Makes Major Progress In De-Risking Renewable Energy Projects

Uganda, Burundi, Malawi, Zambia and Benin have made significant progress in de-risking renewable energy projects in their countries in 2018.

Since launching a year ago, the Regional Liquidity Support Facility (RLSF) has signed agreements with five countries ensuring that their Independent Power Producers (IPPs) receive protection against payment risks that often contribute to their failure.

The Facility supports small and mid-scale renewable energy IPPs (from 50 to 100MW) in sub-Saharan Africa by helping these projects reach financial close and to reduce the energy deficit. Malawi became the latest country to sign onto the agreement today.

Full article: EA BusinessWeek



Print Friendly, PDF & Email